SumanSutra

"Am a Vegan and Green to Save the World" twitter: @sumansutra fb:sumansutra LinkedIn: sudarman email: sumansutra@gmail.com

List of Food Additives which May Unsuitable for Vegan


List Of Food Additives


 


Every vegan needs a list of food additives which are (or may be) unsuitable for vegans. E numbers (additives) are either animal based, plant based, or a mixture of both. The first chart (below) lists e numbers which are always from animal origin. The chart below that lists e numbers which can be derived from animal and/or plant origin. All other e numbers should be plant based. If you want to check the exact origin of a particular e number, usually, the only way to do it is to contact the manufacturers of each product themselves.



E Number List List Of Food Additives Which Are Always Non Vegan
E120 Cochineal, Carminic Acid, Carmine – Colouring. Common red food colour isolated from the insect “Dactylopius coccus”. Cochineal is made from crushing the insect scales into a red powder.
E441 Gelatine – Emulsifier and Gelling Agent. Obtained from animal by products, such as bones, hooves and skin. Produced from all species of animals.
E542 Edible Bone Phosphate – Anti-caking Agent. Derived from animal bones.
E901 Beeswax – Glazing Agent. White and yellow wax taken from bees.
E904 Shellac – Glazing Agent. Resin secreted by an insect called the lac bug Laccifer lacca Kerr (Coccidae).
E913 Lanolin – Glazing Agent (mainly used in cosmetics). A wax from sheep which is excreted by the skin and extracted from the wool.
E966 Lactitol – Sweetener. Derived from lactose which originates from animal milk.
E Number List List Of Food Additives Which May Be Unsuitable For Vegans
E153 Carbon Black – Colouring. Can be from either animal or vegetable. If the packaging says “vegetable carbons” then it is most likely to be suitable for vegans. If the packaging says “carbon black”, then it is probably unsuitable for vegans.
E161g Canthaxanthin (natural orange colour xanthophylls) – Colouring. Usually a plant derivative but can also originate from fish and invertebrates.
E270 Lactic Acid – Antioxidant. Mostly from starch and the beet sugar so is suitable for vegans. Can also be derived from whey which would make it unsuitable for vegans.
E322 Lecithin – Emulsifier and Stabiliser. Can be from either soya bean oil or from animals.
E325 Sodium Lactate – Antioxidant. The salt from lactic acid so can either be animal or vegetable derived.
E326 Potassium Lactate – Antioxidant. Salt derived from lactic acid so can be either vegan or non vegan.
E327 Calcium Lactate – Antioxidant. Salt derived from lactic acid so can be either vegan or non vegan.
E422 Glycerol (Humectant, Solvent, Glycerin) – Sweetener. Most glycerine originates as a by product of soap production. A lot of soaps contain animal fats which would make glycerol unsuitable for vegans.
E430-436 Polyoxyethylene – Emulsifiers and Stabilisers. Fatty acids normally derived from various types of fruit but can still originate from animals.
E442 Ammonium Phosphatides – Emulsifier. Sometimes made from glycerol so could be unsuitable for vegans.
E470 Fatty Acid Salts – Emulsifiers and Stabilisers. Salts of natural fatty acids mainly from plant origin but can also be derived from animal origin.
E470a Sodium, Potassium and Calcium Salts of Fatty Acids – Emulsifier and Anti-caking Agent. As 470 is derived from fatty acids, these may also be derived from animals.
E470b Magnesium Stearate – Emulsifier and Stabilisers. Like 470a this is another magnesium salt from fatty acids and may be derived from animals.
E471 Mono- and Diglycerides – Emulsifier and Stabilisers. Synthetic fats produced from glycerol and natural fatty acids. Mostly from plant origin but can also contain animal fats.
E472 Esters of Mono- and Diglycerides – Emulsifier and Stabilisers. Esters of synthetic fats which are produced from glycerol, natural fatty acids and other acid (acetic, lactic, tartaric, citric). The fatty acids are mainly from plant origin, but may also derive from animal fats.
E473 Sugar Esters of Fatty Acids – Emulsifier and Stabilisers. Esters of sugar and synthetic fats, produced from glycerol and natural fatty acids. Mainly from plant origin, but may also be derived from animal fats.
E474 Sugarglycerides – Emulsifier and Stabilisers. Esters of sugar and fats, produced from sugar and natural fats. The fats are mainly from plant origin, but may also be derived from animal fats.
E475 Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty Acids – Emulsifier and Stabilisers. A mixture of polyglycerol and natural fats. Normal fat consists of glycerol and fatty acids. The fats are mainly from plant origin, but may also be derived from animal fats.
E477 Propyleneglycol Esters of Fatty Acids – Emulsifier and Stabilisers. A mixture of propanediol and natural fats. Normal fat consists of glycerol and fatty acids. The fats are mainly from plant origin but may also be derived from animal fats.
E478 Mixture of Glycerol and Propyleneglycolesters of Lactic Acid and Fatty Acids – Emulsifier and Stabilisers. A mixture of lactic acid, glycerol, propanediol and natural fats. The fats are mainly from plant origin, but may also be derived from animal fats.
E479 Esterified Soy-Oil – Emulsifier and Stabilisers. Produced by heating soya oil in the presence of free fatty acids. The fatty acids are mainly from plant origin, but may also be derived from animal fats.
E481-2 Sodium Stearoyl Lactate – Emulsifier and Stabilisers. A mixture of stearic acid and lactic acid. Can either be plant or animal derived.
E483 Stearyl Tartrate – Emulsifier and Stabilisers. A mixture of stearic acid and tartaric acid. The origin of stearic acid can be or plant or animal fat but vegetable fat is almost always used.
E484 Stearylcitrate – Emulsifier and Stabilisers. A mixture of stearic acid and citric acid. The origin of stearic acid can be or plant or animal fat but vegetable fat is almost always used.
E491-5 Sorbitane Mono Stearate – Emulsifier and Stabilisers. Made from sorbitol and stearic acid which can be either vegetable or animal derived.
E570 Stearic Acid – Anti-caking Agent. Stearic acid can be found in vegetable and animal fats but commercial production is usually synthetic.
E572 Magnesium Stearate/Calcium Stearate – Emulsifier and Anti-caking Agent. See E570 above.
E585 Ferrous Lactate – Colouring. A compound which is formed when a mineral is bound to lactic acid. May be derived from an animal source, or from a vegetable source.
E626-29 Guanylic Acid – Flavouring. Guanylic acid is a natural acid, which is part of the genetic carrier molecules in the cell. It is part of all cells in all living organisms. Commercially prepared from yeast extract or sardines.
E630-35 Inosinic Acid – Flavouring. A natural acid, that is mainly present in animals. Commercially prepared from meat or fish (sardines). May also be produced by bacterial fermentation of sugars.
E636-37 Maltol – Flavouring. A natural compound commercially extracted from the bark of lark trees or roasted malt. Also by heating of lactose and maltose.
E640 Glycines – Bread Enhancer. Glycine is a natural amino acid. Mainly produced from gelatin.
E920-21 L-Cysteine – Bread Enhancer. L-cysteine can come from human hair (off barbershop floors), animal hair, animal hooves and duck feathers (duck feathers are the primary source). Synthetic L-cysteine is vegan, but is rarely used because it’s more expensive.
E1105 Lysozyme (also known as muramidase or N-acetylmuramide glycanhydrolase) – Preservative. Commercially prepared from chicken eggs and bacteria.
E1000 Cholic Acid – Emulsifier. Usually derived from animal bile but can be produced commercially.

%d bloggers like this: