SumanSutra

"Am a Vegan and Green to Save the World" twitter: @sumansutra fb:sumansutra LinkedIn: sudarman email: sumansutra@gmail.com

Global Warming Have Relationship with Humans by Grade 7 – 8 Students


GLOBAL WARMING FESTIVAL Annette Marsier Hosana 7A1 (Morning Star Indonesia’s Student grade 7)

On Saturday May 8th 2010, I came to a festival which was held at FX. The theme of the festival was ‘Global Warming’. I listened to the oral lecture there and have to make journal after that. The oral lecture was talking deeply about global warming including the definition of global warming, the cause of global warming, the effect of global warming and what we can do to reduce global warming. We were also watching some videos from around the world about what people think and do towards global warming. After the seminar finished, I drank a mixed juice of broccoli and pineapple. The juice was so delicious and healthy. While I drank my juice, I walked around the festival area to take a look. I saw some animals that being conserved by the people. There were dog, rabbits, little crocodile, turtles, and even snakes. It proved that the people here were so caring about the life of the animals for the earth. Other than that, I also saw a lot of food booths around the area. The interesting thing about the food was that all of them were made of vegetables, no meat at all like the nuggets, burgers, French Fries, and satays.

The lesson that I learned was all the things that related to global warming have the relationship with what humans do, like the cause of global warming. There are many things that humans do which makes the atmosphere of the earth becomes thinner. One of them is killing animals for human’s consumption. Humans don’t realize there’s a dangerous effect behind doing it and the effect is effecting not just to them but to all the people in the earth. They just do it for their own advantage while actually the effect of what they’re doing goes back to attack them.

Nowadays, I always eat meat every day. At the seminar, I was watching the video about the way of killing the animals. I saw the way they kill animals as if they don’t have a heart and really cruel. They bleed and cut the animal’s body so roughly. After that, I realize that I can do something to participate to reduce global warming in just a simple way. What I can do is by not eating meat every day. In the very first time, I just have to try to reduce eating meat at least once a week and as the time goes by, I can make myself to not to eat meat for the rest of my life.

By not eating meat every day, I am participating in the effort to reduce global warming. No meat eater is called vegans. Vegans only eat vegetables, no meat, milk, or eggs. There are many people that became vegan and tried to save the world from global warming. I want to join them also so that their effort won’t be useless but will be useful towards the earth and humans who live in it too. There are many vegetarian restaurants nowadays. I can still enjoy the deliciousness of food without eating meat and cause the effect to the world. The food at the festival area proved that also. By doing this, I am not just reducing global warming but getting my health at the same time.

I’m so blessed to come to this seminar and get the important lesson of my life especially in my young age. I can do something early before it’s too late. What I can do now can save the people in the Earth, including myself. God has sent this message to me, and I want to share and spread this message to other people also, so we can take care of the world together. Then, I can be a useful person for God and other people too.

to read other students report on the festival click here

